Early Years Curriculum

Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.

There are three prime areas which are considered to be the most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning, these are:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, social and emotional development.

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in four specific areas. These are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

These 7 areas have been used to plan our Early Years curriculum. Our curriculum is designed to be flexible so that staff can follow the child’s unique needs and interests.

Our curriculum has been developed with reference to Development Matters, (non-statutory DfE guidance for Early Years practitioners and settings). Development Matters provides guidance on designing an effective, ambitious early years curriculum which is based on the strengths and needs of the children within our school.

Development Matters

Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outdoors. They need opportunities to develop their own play and independent exploration. This is enjoyable and motivating for children.

Adult-led learning forms a key element of our EYFS curriculum, particularly when helping children to develop specific skills. Children, particularly in Reception, will also engage with more ‘formal’ learning techniques.

Links to:

Nursery Long Term Overview and Progression

Reception Long Term Overview and Progression