Governing Body

St. Anne’s status as a Church School is reflected in the make-up of the Governing Body. The majority of governors are “foundation governors”, which means they are appointed by the Parochial Church Council. Of the nine foundation governors at least two have to be parents of pupils registered at the school. An additional three parent governors are elected directly by school parents. The governing body also includes a member of staff, a co-opted governor and one other appointed by the Local Education Authority. The Head Teacher is also a governor.

All successful organisations depend upon teamwork and a school is no different. Teachers, parents and governors work together for the benefit of all the pupils. The governors are involved in:

  • the general running of the school
  • policy development
  • planning and monitoring the school budget
  • interviewing and selecting staff
  • supporting school discipline

The governors meet twice a term and attend other sub-committee meetings, including Finance & Admissions. The minutes of governors’ meetings can be viewed at the school.

Being a Church School means that we aim “to serve our community by providing an education of the highest quality within the context of Christian belief and practice.” (St. Anne’s Instrument of Government)

A full list of current governors is included on page 7 of our prospectus.