Early Years

At St. Anne’s Primary School, our early years children are provided with the highest quality care and early learning experiences. Our ‘Early Years’ consists of children in Nursery (Gold class) and Reception (Red and Yellow classes).

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets the standards for the learning, development and care of your child from birth to 5 years old. The revised EYFS Framework became statutory for all Early Years providers in England in September 2021 and exists to support all professionals working in the EYFS.

Statutory EYFS Framework

There are four guiding principles (set out in the EYFS) which shape all areas of practice in our early years:

  • every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured
  • children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships
  • children learn and develop well in enabling environments with teaching and support from adults, who respond to their individual interests and needs and help them to build their learning over time.
  • importance of learning and development; children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates.

These principles underpin our Early Years curriculum.

Early Years Curriculum

Assessment in the Early Years

Parents As Partners